So I’ve been voraciously reading Chinese novels ( with google translate of course!)

There are two possible options I am considering. Let me know which one you would want.

My Wayward Ex-Wife (福妻不从夫) by Mo Yan (莫颜) HE

There are 2 people whom Mu Huan Qing does not ever want to meet again – first is the Emperor who messed up her life with his lousy matchmaking skills (he has none to be accurate), and second is the Honorable Duke of Zhen Yuan, who was ordered to marry her (no thanks to the first).

Because of this marriage, he cannot marry his beloved cousin and his sweetheart can only ever be his concubine at best. Although he has no choice over his own wife, he can choose to ignore and disregard the woman he marries, even exile her to live in the countryside.

And despite being abandoned and giving birth to a daughter, Mu Huan Qing is neither discouraged nor afraid. She does not love Fu Yan Lin in the first place and can empathize his dislike of her. Furthermore, his lack of concern gives her the opportunity to live the way she wants so it is actually not too bad a thing.

Faced with these 2 seemingly parallel lines who are contented to stay apart, just how is a meddling demon supposed to get them back together?

Shushengbar link

Miumiu :  I think the story is average but I like the character of MHQ. She is very strong and proud and does not accept defeat easily. She is not the usual female lead  to wonder and cry over why her husband does not like her, but rather is content to live independently and away from her husband. The ML is quite irritating in the beginning but later he does a lot to get back in her good books. And their daughter and the demon’s interactions are too cute !

洞房花烛,隔壁 ~ Nuptial Chamber Next Door

Protagonists: Ye Zheng Chen and Bo Bing

Synopsis:

Bo Bing is a medical student who went to Japan to pursue further studies, a young girl in a foreign land she met a senior student, Ye Zheng Chen who is also an aspiring doctor in the same university as her. They shared some common factors, become fast friends and gradually fall in love. Ye Zheng Chen love Bo Bing deeply and affectionately call her ‘lass’ instead by her name. However, Bo Bing later discovered that Ye Zheng Chen is in fact already engaged to another girl and was upset she is being lied to. Ye Zheng Chen tried to explain his difficulties but Bo Bing fled back home before he can tell her the truth.

Three years later, Bo Bing’s fiancé is being charged and she is told that only Ye Zheng Chen has the ability to help her. Bo Bing is therefore being forced to trade herself to Ye Zheng Chen in order to save her fiancé. She also learns the secret that Ye Zheng Chen has been hiding from her since their days in Japan three years ago…

Alternate Synopsis:

If I believe that you said “I love you”……
If I believe that the hurt you imposed on me is not to deceive intentionally……
If I believe that pain which you never voice out, is already spreading like a virus……
Will we not miss out three years of our time?

Seoul in love link

Miumiu : This recommendation is from Seoul in love and I usually like all her book reccos ( Rolling Love was one). Both the leads are very relatable. YZC is a bit manipulative, which I was in two minds about… but he also goes through his share of suffering which we get to know later. There is a lot of angst due to the misunderstanding between the two. Bo Bing’s dilemma between what her mind tells her to do and her heart wants is quite heartbreaking sometimes.

Let me know your thoughts in the comment section. In the meantime , I am off to read more novels

46 thoughts on “Next Project : A or B?

  1. Both of the novels I had them on my to read list too… given a choice, I vote for 洞房花烛,隔壁 ~ Nuptial Chamber Next Door. However whatever you choose I will gladly support and read them 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am not a big fan of novels where the heroine “trades” herself for the safety/future of others. Shades of “Sealed with a kiss” or too many lakorns. Political marriage is close – but the heroine seems a little sturdier in “Ex wife.” Love to read a completed translation but it is your choice. Have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First of all, thanks for being awesome. 🙂 I’m very grateful for all your translations.
    Re:the next project. If the ML in “My Wayward Ex-Wife” is deeply in love with another woman and/or has children with her (both tropes I dislike), then I vote for “Nuptial Chamber Next Door”. Otherwise, I prefer historical novels.

    Second… I also love reading C-novels (with MTL… when there’s no other choice), and I’d like to hear what novels you’ve read, since I’m always on the lookout for new recs. Maybe you’d consider creating a page of “Book recs” sometime, where you could list the titles of your favorite C-novels, with maybe a line or two of why you liked a particular book? Please? 🙂
    Personally, I love love historical romance C-novels, with smart, not-annoying (i.e., TSTL or aggressively stubborn) heroines, strong heroes, and unlimited chong, lol. (My favorites reads so far were 盛世嫡妃, 将军家的小娇娘, 知否?知否?应是绿肥红瘦, 嫡谋; and among the shorter novels, I loved 宠妃使用手册, 徐门娇, 萌宠皇后, 重生宠后, 赠君一世荣华.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The ML does love his cousin initially but somehow that doesn’t get too much space in the book. As for recs, hmm , that may be a good idea . I will definitely consider that.

      Like

    1. Actually the ML is quite cute sometimes. He is all “don’t fall in love with me ” and then he sees BB with some other male, gets jealous and gives her her first kiss

      Like

    1. So what would you like ? Any recommendations? Preferably not ones that are half translated because it’s very difficult to reach the Translators for permission. I wanted to finish goodbye miss undercover but the Translators said they would finish it ( almost a year ago) and I could never reach the ones that translated Ba Mo Ai Qin

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I would like to read a modern novel, so my choice will be B ” Nuptial chamber next door”, but ya whatever u choose to translate m fine with it 😘😍

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wahhhhh! Choose A! A! A… please…
    Marriage life is the best Romance ever..!
    Wahhh! Miumiu-babe, if you won’t choose A then choose B like “Bloom!”

    Bwahahahaha! I’m your evil-twin! Yohohohoho! I love you, Miumiu! I hope to meet you personally and let’s tour the Great Wall of China! Bwahahahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Am I too late? Can I vote A? I love me some historical romance.. I would like to see how she wins over her Husband despite the odds…. as for B I am not too keen, cos of the ‘cheating’, as in she’s engaged and had to trade herself, I prefer a 1 man kinda woman. Look forward to ur final choice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hope i’m not too late
    I prefer the modern one, angst is just my cup of tea
    But my final vote will be whichever one you prefer and find easier to translate
    I trust your taste, rolling love and same place not same bed is just awesome 😍
    Thank you for translating them, mwah mwah

    Like

  8. Nuptial Chamber Next Door – I like the writing of this author. Her stories are pretty unique and this is from using Google translate. I can’t wait to read this translated to understand the storyline and conversation better.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I also read Love Given to You by Mistake and Wu Ai Yan Han completely. I started reading Zong Ran Yuan Jian but gave up because the story somewhat began to follow the same pattern and this story did not grab my attention as much. I read first Love Given to You by Mistake and loved that story so much then read Wu Ai Yan Han next. Lastly I read Nuptial Chamber Next Door. I only realize it was all by the same author by the time I read Nuptial Chamber Next Door.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.